Ruthven City Council Meeting March 9, 2022- 6:30 PM

The Ruthven City Council, of the City of Ruthven, Iowa, met on the 9th Day of March 2022, at 6:30 PM, in regular session, in Council Chambers at City Hall, pursuant to law and to the rules of said council.

Meeting was called to order by Mayor Dustin Johnson in the Chair, and the roll being called, the following members were present; Ashley Williamson, Marci Simington and Casey Pomeroy Absent; Mitch Anderson and Terrance Williams

City employees present: Dave Conlon, Toad Loder, Jessica Schneider

Public: Jay Schoning, Lenny Larson, Michael Novitzki, Travis Lampe, and Rick Adams

Motion Simington, second Williamson to approve Minutes from February 22nd & 23rd, 2022, City Council Meeting, Claims Report and Clerk's Financial Reports. Vote: Ayes; Williamson, Simington and Pomeroy and. Nays: None Absent; Anderson and Williams

Mayor Johnson declared the public hearing open at 6:31 p.m. for the city of Ruthven to Adopt the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Budget for Year Ending June 30, 2023. No objectors were present or filed written objections to the City Clerk, so the public hearing was declared closed at 6:32 p.m.

Motion Simington, second Pomeroy to approve RESOLUTION 10-2022 – A Resolution Adopting the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Annual Budget for Year Ending June 30, 2023. Roll Call Vote-Ayes: Williamson, Simington and Pomeroy and Nays: None. Absent: Anderson and Williams

Lenny Larson from ISG and Michael Novitzki from KLM were present and discussed the water tower maintenance and a few options to look into. No decision was made by council.

Motion Williamson, second Simington to approve RESOLUTION 11-2022 – A Resolution Approving a Kossuth Cluster DCAT Mini Grant Application for Ruthven Swimming Pool Low Income Members and Swimming Lessons. Roll Call Vote-Ayes: Williamson, Simington and Pomeroy Nays: None. Absent: Anderson and Williams

Mayor Johnson introduced the new committee appointments. Public Safety: Terrence Williams as chairperson along with Mitch Anderson and Casey Pomeroy as alternate. Public works: Terrence Williams as chairperson along with Mitch Anderson and Casey Pomeroy as alternate. Health and Social Services: Marcie Simington as chairperson along with Terrence Williams and Ashley Williamson as alternate. Culture and Recreation: Mitch Anderson as chairperson along with Marcie Simington and Terrance Willams as alternate. Community and Economic Development: Ashley Williamson as chairperson along with Marcie Simington and Mitch Anderson as alternate. General Government: Casey Pomeroy as chairperson along with Marcie and Ashley Williamson as alternate. Deb Service and Capital Projects: Marcie Simington as chairperson along with Mitch Anderson and Terrance Williams as alternate.

Motion Williamson, Second Simington on the approval of the demolition grant of property 1402 Merrill St. vote: Ayes; Williamson, Simington and Pomeroy Nays: None. Absent: Anderson and Williams

Motion Williamson, Second Pomeroy to adjourn meeting at 7:24 p.m. vote: Ayes; Williamson, Simington and Pomeroy Nays: None. Absent: Anderson and Williams

SIGNED:

ATTEST:

Dustin Johnson, Mayor of Ruthven

Jessica Schneider, City Clerk